It’s been a year and 2 months since I subscribed to three (3) Philippine Internet Service Provider (ISP) namely, Globelines Broadband Budget Bundles, Smart Bro and PLDT MyDSL. At the time of installation, I believed it was not yet time to make a review. Give it a year, I said to myself. What do you know? I survived to tell you about these 3 ISP’s. As a netrepreneur, my business relies on fast and reliable internet connection. I am sure other parents out there will be interested to know my experiences with these ISPs.

Let me add a fourth ISP, the Smart 3g which I use specifically for my macbook.

Take note, I am a paying subscriber located in Pasig City near the Quezon City area. I added speed test results (using speedtest.net) to show how most of our ISPs never deliver the promised speeds. I start being a “reklamador’ and then call support if speed falls below 50% after all it is my right to get the services I paid for.

Anyway, here goes:

1. Smart Bro- 999 pesos for a 256 kpbs connection- installed March 2, 2007

This internet connection is located at Lauren’s computer. Installation was pretty fast with only 1 day waiting period. During the first four months, there were barely any connection problems. Slow speed started to occur sometime June 2007. Calling the Smart Support (6727277) is agonizing. It’s best you have a speaker phone when you dial their number.It can take anywhere from 30 minutes to 1 hour before you can get to talk to someone. They make you do all that PING, bandwidth testing on your PC before they call in the tech support to go to your place. I keep telling them that they have congested their cell sites. They replace the antenna thinking it’s defective. I complain it is a congestion problem. After a replacement of the antenna, the slow connection continued on especially starting at 6:00 PM .

SMART BRO’s dismal performance turned me into a “nasty” person and sometime August, I threatened to report them to the National Telecommunications Commission for non-existence of an internet connection. This was after waiting again on the phone for an hour. Fortunately, the nice technicians came. They are amazed that I am given support a day after my phone call. I kept thinking the SMART BRO tech people must have googled my name and found out I was a blogger. Maybe? They changed my base station to a less congested base. I was optimistic this would work but no….slow connection still happened. I was more emphatic this time “If you can’t give me a stable internet connection, then just release me from the locked-in period”. In fairness to the tech guys, they did a great job the third time around. Since August 2007, SMART Bro connection has been very stable.

Speed Test

Smart bro

Upload: 305 kbps
Download: 235 kbps
Promised speed: 256kbps reaches 100% (They might have also upgraded to 512 kbps)

Rating- 5/10 only because calling SMART BRO Support is torture and they tend to congest their base station. Though Support takes time to answer your calls, they give feedback in your cellphone regarding the progress of your report.

2. Globelines Broadband Budget Bundles - 2 MBPS with landline. (now at 1,995 pesos only)

The Globe Broadband connection is attached to Marielle’s desktop. The thing I like most about Globe Broadband is that their modem comes with a wi-fi router. At its peak usage, 3 laptops and a desktop connect to this wi-fi connection. During the first few months, calling Globelines Support at 9198888 took at least 45 minutes. For the past 7 months now, I didn’t have to wait too long for tech support to pick up my queue. I have encountered 4 connection problems with them so far. The first one lasted for one day with no internet connection. My succeeding problems with them was dropped wi-fi connection. I experience dropped wi-fi connection problems every 30 minutes but I can live with it since it goes back up in a 5 seconds or less.

Speed test (using wi-fi in two separate tests)

globe
Upload: 1788 kbps
Download: 242 kbps

globelines
(edit- June 4, 2008)
Upload: 2144 kbps
Download: 494 kbps
Promised speed: 2 MBPs at almost 90% speed and surpassing the promised speed of over 100%

Rating 7/10 because their connection has been quite reliable with minimal downtime. It could be better if wi-fi connection is more stable with less frequent dropped wi-fi connection.

3. PLDT MyDSL 1MBps and landline bundle at 999 pesos a month

At the time of installation, my plan was 768 kbps speed. Currently, the plan is a 1000 MBps.

Of all the 3 ISP’s, PLDT was the last to install. From April 2007 to March 2008, PLDT has dropped connections every 15 minutes or so. I called their Tech Support (171) and it took them a week to get a technician to our house. It was the landline tech personnel who made sure that there were no problems in the landline connection. After they assured me that all the lines were working well, I thought my DSL connection would be smooth. I was wrong. The dropped connections continue till March 2008. Upon calling PLDT support, they keep saying that they are working on it. I gave up calling on them. Maybe because I have another reliable ISP to run to when their connection is not working.

On April 2008, I wanted to terminate their services but they said I can’t because of the 2 year lock in period. I got exasperated. I said I wasn’t willing to pay services since I don’t have a stable internet connection. I threatened to report them to NTC. What do you know? A technician came three days after.

The problem? A defective modem. Oh dear, to think I suffered a year of dropped connection because the first few technicians didn’t think to check on the modem.

So far, I am receiving decent connection from PLDT Mydsl. Decent=not frequent dropped connection.

Speed Test
PLDT mydsl

Upload: 436 kbps
Download:300 kbps
Promised speed:768 kbps reaches only 56% (speed that time was less than 1 MBps)

pldt

Upload: 532 kbps
Download:238 kbps
Promised speed:1000 kbps reaches only 50%

pldt
(edit- June 4, 2008)
Upload: 1066 kbps
Download:293kbps
Promised speed: 1066 kbps reaches over 100%

Rating 4/10 because of the lousy PLDT myDSL connection I suffered for a year. Support is not “supportive”. They keep saying they are working on the problem without giving feedback.

4. Smart 3G connecting to my Nokia e51 at 10 pesos per 30 minutes of use.

I only use Smart 3g with my macbook whenever I am out of the house. I am quite happy with smart 3g. It often delivers. Sometimes it gives me a message that I am out of credits but all I do is restart the phone modem. Speed depends on location. It can go as high as 1200 kbps or as slow as 100 kbps.

smart 3g
Upload: 723 kbps
Download: 107 kbps
Promised speed: No data

smart3g
Upload: 434 kbps
Download: 288 kbps
Promised speed: No data

Rating 7/10 because it often gives me the internet connection. However, not all places in the Philippines are covered with the fast 3g speeds. One can get a gprs speed which is sufficient to open emails only.

My suggestions to the Philippine Internet Service Providers:

1. Don’t assume that we don’t know anything about computers. Don’t say we have a virus when you don’t even know if I am using a mac or a PC. Just because I am a woman doesn’t mean I am clueless about computers. Don’t assume we are ignorant.

2. If you are going to have long queues in your Tech Support lines, consider using the SMS system that Destiny Cable (my old provider) uses. When there is a tech issue, I would just send a text message with my landline to their support. When they are free, they return my call. Works like a charm.

3. Stop using the byline line faster than dial-up when you promote your broadband ads . You can’t fool someone like me who has been using cable internet for 9 years now. Yes, you can fool the dialup users but how long can you fool them?

4. Stop congesting or overcrowding your servers. There is huge potential and an untapped market for internet users . You can still earn profitably as demand rises.

To all those who have asked me which is the better internet service provider among my 4 ISPs, I can say it is Globelines Broadband because of the more or less stable internet connectivity and prompt customer support. But remember, not all ISP’s reliability are the same in any locality. I heard Globe Broaband is really bad in Cavite and Makati City.

My ISP recommendation is based on my location which is Pasig City.

Rating my 4 ISPs
In conclusion, here is my score card of my 4 ISPs based on stable internet connection and customer service reliablity:

1. Globelines Broadband could be better
2. Smart 3g (ties with Globe Broadband)
3. Smart Bro
4. PLDT MyDSL (Worst)

How would you rate your internet service provider?

Noemi Lardizabal-Dado (1213 Posts)

You may contact Noemi (noemidado @ gmail.com) for speaking and consultancy services in the following areas: Parenting in the Digital Age (includes pro-active parenting on cyber-bullying and bullying) ; Social Business ; Reinventing One’s Life; and social media engagement. Our parenting workshop is called "Prep to Prime (P2P): Parenting in the Digital Age (An Un­Workshop)" P2P Un­Workshops are conducted by two golden women in their prime, Noemi and Jane, who have a century’s worth of experience between them. They are both accomplished professionals who chose to become homemakers. This 180­degree turn also put them on a different life course which includes blogging, social media engagement and citizen advocacy. They call their un­workshops Prep to Prime or P2P, for short, to emphasize the breadth of their parenting experience. They tackle different aspects and issues of parenting ­­ from managing pregnancies, prepping for the school years of children, dealing with househelp, managing the household budget, to maximizing one’s prime life and staying healthy through the senior years.


About Noemi Lardizabal-Dado

You may contact Noemi (noemidado @ gmail.com) for speaking and consultancy services in the following areas: Parenting in the Digital Age (includes pro-active parenting on cyber-bullying and bullying) ; Social Business ; Reinventing One’s Life; and social media engagement. Our parenting workshop is called "Prep to Prime (P2P): Parenting in the Digital Age (An Un­Workshop)" P2P Un­Workshops are conducted by two golden women in their prime, Noemi and Jane, who have a century’s worth of experience between them. They are both accomplished professionals who chose to become homemakers. This 180­degree turn also put them on a different life course which includes blogging, social media engagement and citizen advocacy. They call their un­workshops Prep to Prime or P2P, for short, to emphasize the breadth of their parenting experience. They tackle different aspects and issues of parenting ­­ from managing pregnancies, prepping for the school years of children, dealing with househelp, managing the household budget, to maximizing one’s prime life and staying healthy through the senior years.

  • http://guttervomit.com luis buenaventura

    I’ve run through quite a few different ISPs myself — at the moment I’ve got (1) PLDT MyDSL at home in Eastwood, (2) Globe Visibility, (3) Smart 3G and (4) Airborne Access (technically not an ISP) on the road, and (5) Globe DSL at my office in Makati.

    Interestingly, my experience has been the exact opposite of yours, and our homes are only a few kilometers away from each other. My PLDT MyDSL is a 2mbps connection, and consistently hits that ceiling. A 10mb download from iTunes takes about 45-60 seconds to complete, for example. It’s been down thrice in 2 years, and all three times it came back within an hour or so.

    Of my two on-the-road connections, Visibility is of course the faster connection since it’s HSDPA, but Smart 3G is a lot more consistently available. Visibility hits its high notes when you’re inside the CBD mostly, but this is paradoxical because the CBD is also where the largest number of HSDPA phones exist. It’s very similar to cable internet, where multiple users try to grab as much of the available bandwidth as possible. I can usually do anywhere from 512kbps to 1.5mbps depending on network congestion with the Visibility modem. Smart 3G meanwhile feels somewhere in between 128kbps to 384kbps, although I’ve never used it to check anything other than email, so I don’t know how accurate those numbers are.

    The Globe DSL connection at the office is disappointing for its price range. It’s also supposedly 2mbps, but it’s never hit higher numbers than 1mbps, or maybe 1280kbps on a good day.

    I guess the only conclusion we can really come to from these wildly disparate experiences is that our local infrastructure is incredibly uneven. It may be because we’re building out new infrastructure while slowly trying to upgrade the old ones (e.g., my building in Eastwood was less than a year old when I moved in), or it may be other things like the network congestion in our specific areas. The expression “your mileage may vary” is never more true than when used to describe internet connection speeds in the Philippines.

    luis buenaventura’s last blog post..Summer Movies 2008

    • Efren Castro

      This plain and simple cheating the consumer of their internet services. I believe it’ about time to think of legal action to stop the abuses of the internet provider. The government should step in and investigate what these internet providers are doing; otherwise, a class suit would be the best remedy to solve this problem.

  • http://www.project365days.com/ P365D

    I should also do that “threatening” thing, my mother recently switched to PLDT MyDSL Plan 999 (Bundle) the one with the phone and internet connection. Since my mother don’t know anything about the internet blah she didn’t even try to run the PC and test the phone after installation to found out that the “splitter” is defective I have to switch like crazy if I have to use the phone or the internet and connect it directly to the small box-like thing. The internet connection is okay for the rest of the week but after that it started to dropped connection for a day or so good thing we still have the SmartBro connection (the one I’m using now) I reported the non-existing internet connection and they insisted that the line is broken of sort but I the phone line is completely okay oh except for the splitter they said they would call to schedule the technician but after two days….

    NINAKAW YUNG CABLE NG PHONE NAMIN…lol so most of the PLDT phone here is busted…I can’t imagine the day when they’ll fix the whole line in our area.

    P365D’s last blog post..Spot Pass Food Tour: Bonifacio High Street and Serendra

  • http://one-twentyone.com lady cess

    i have a friend who is a subscriber of smartbro. ganyan din, the technicians went over to her place for so many times to replace antennas. since she is not blogger, she went to cs and got mad there. ayon, naayos na.
    but it’s so exasperating isn’t it, that some of these companies feels like they wait for you to lose your temper and make threats before they really, really act on your complaints.

    lady cess’s last blog post..BDO Responds

  • http://pau.araos.com/ Pau

    We use SmartBro for our business. While we mainly use it for emailing and downloading freeware whenever I need to format one of our PCs, I don’t really have any complaints with regard to speed. I do however hate calling their tech support with a vengeance. Like you said, I do need to use a speakerphone when dialing them just so I can call them while working.

    At our home in Eastwood, we have no choice because our building has an exclusive agreement with Destiny. When it comes to the speed, it pretty much delivers its advertised speed. Torrents reach 180-200 Kbps which gets no complaints from me.

    Unfortunately I would say that their tech support number is much much worse than Smart Bro. At least Smart Bro doesn’t drop your connection when they’ve got a lot of callers in queue.

    Yes they still have the SMS system, but you only get a callback 40% of the time.

    In my first year as a subscriber, we experience problems almost every single week.

    Lately Destiny’s been stable, but because of their crappy tech support, and their exclusivity clause with our building (why is this legal in the Philippines?), I can’t find it in my heart to give them a rating above 5/10.

    Pau’s last blog post..In which I go into all manner of random geekery

  • http://aboutmyrecovery.com Noemi

    @Luis- PLDT has been good lately though. Yes I have heard of Globe’s dismal performance in Makati.

    @PS365- Oh they have this remote testing and all but it does not work when there is a physical problem. Gosh I was duped for a year only because I had a defective modem.

    @ladycess- they try to “make bola” about this and that just so they don’t look bad. And when you don’t buy it, that’s when they start to move.

    @pau- ask NTC? maybe they have the exclusivity agreement because they shouldered the cable wire pipes? that’s certainly illegal. As consumers we should be free to choose our ISPs.

    Damn LOCK in Period too. That should be illegal especially if services were NON-existent.

    • melle

      hi, noemi. thanks for your blog and for those who replied to it. i find it very useful in some ways. i was previously subscribed to pldt biz package, which meant, i had to pay the phoneline and dsl service separately at the huge amount of almost P5, 000/month as i used to run a computer shop. to my dismay, i encountered interrupted service on a daily basis. even the frequent reports to 171 nor the visits of the technicians didn’t help that much. technicians would always attribute the problem to defective wires which i had to change, etc. but even after obeying as they pleased, the connection didn’t get any better. the result? i was forced to close the shop! as how can you expect the customers to stay hooked when they would suddenly get disconnected in the midst of gaming or whatever??? of course, that also meant a big loss on my part. again, we, subscribers, ended up as losers. ironically, no refund was even given despite numerous complaints.

      next to it, i’ve really been encountering problems with my pldt bundle internet service to date. incidentally, i thought it was a wise decision to have one at home, since pldt was the only phoneline available in our area back then. but i’ve often encountered slow connection or none at all. worse, everytime the technician would come to check our line, i would always be required to change the modem. i never did. i’ve always argued that i do doubt that it wasn’t the one causing trouble. mind you, it’s still the same modem am using now. thank God, connection is a bit better today, so, it’s not really defective. furthermore, as true enough, some bloggers here encountered the same feedback from pldt, needless to say, that it’s not our paraphernalia that does not deliver, it the service which is really poor.

      i’ve also tried the smart bro in another biz venture. but i have to give it the benefit of the doubt since at that time, it was still building up.

      am planning to switch to globelines soon, since, it, too has bundle offers, and is now available in our area in paranaque. i just hope that the choice would be of a lesser evil as my daughters’ friends are giving the same feedback with pldt dsl. i just have to resort to another option this time. i do hope i won’t regret it.

      i do wish, we, as subscribers can come together to call the attention of our providers. our collective efforts can call their attention and hopefully can pressure the service providers to keep to their promise and better yet, improve their services. if i am right, we can actually sue them for tricking us into enticing deals which do not materialize in full.

      if the rise of competitors do not challenge these providers to do better, there’s a strong hope that we, with our concerted effort can.

  • http://pau.araos.com/ Pau

    I think they shouldered the cable wire pipes. Because Destiny’s here every week and one of their reasons for their presence is to tinker with the cable wire pipe thingamajig.

    But if they did shoulder it, does that make it legal?

    Also, one more thing about their tech support: Destiny’s field personnel can only visit our unit on Tuesdays. They will accept no other day.

    I can’t count the number of Tuesdays which I had to rush home from the office just to let the technician in. We don’t have a maid, I have no other choice but to cut down on work hours just to make sure we get back our connection at home.

    But I’ve since made friends with their field technician so I can arrange for him to visit is even on non-Tuesdays.

    Pau’s last blog post..In which I go into all manner of random geekery

    • Al

      Now we are hating mydestiny more than ever. Definitely a good decision to cut, stop, terminate, cease their services and move over to Smart pre-paid usb or just a 4gwi-tribe… We wrote a letter to them re: disconnection request, stating that we want to be disconnected from them beginning July 2010, (get this, beginning means starting July, there should be no more bills and service is terminated). They are very corrupt, saying that July 31 was still payable, they have the dumbest agents ever, and idiotic management, they keep giving you numbers to call instead of transferring you, putting you on hold, and wasting your patience and in the end, saying that you’ll be taken to court if the amount was not paid.
      They dont even consider your monthly payments despite their terrible internet connection. Bad customer service, bad handling, we tell you, dont ever make a mistake of being a subscriber to this stupid provider!!! We now have better options: Smart, globe and even wi-tribe on the rise. we are a subscriber to all these providers, and mydestiny solid broadband sucks!!!

      Their field tech? last year, they cameto visit the unit (after we called for them because all of a sudden there was no connection at all) then they reconfigured the modem from the router for my wi-fi,,unfortunately my laptops’ LAn port is down, hence im using wi-fi… arrgh.
      Now they want us to pay immediately the last july bill –
      What can be done on this if the subscriber has already left the country because of bad services he is getting from the filipino companies na walang ibang bukambibig kundi bayad muna service – maybe you’ll never even experience!
      Karma na lang!

  • http://jennyandbelle.blogspot.com Jenny

    Hi Noemi! I’ve just subscribed to SmartBro Plan 999 and I also protested the lock-in period. Maybe we consumers can complain to the Dept of Trade and Industry? Or should it be the NTC?

    Jenny’s last blog post..Shoutbox

  • http://justwandering.org nina the evil one

    So far, I seem to be in the minority here. I’ve been a satisfied BayanDSL subscriber since 2005. They’re not perfect; it sometimes takes several tried before you get to actually talk to somebody when you call their hotline. However, when you finally are able to connect, the person who answers can reset your connection if needed. If his/her solution doesn’t work, they file a report and if your connection isn’t back within 24 hours of the filing, you get a Php500-rebate. Because of this 24-hour guarantee, you can expect a technician to show up at your house the following day.

    My connection is pretty good, though sometimes it can get spotty (but heavy rain factors in, as well as road/electrical repairs). But whenever my connection falters, I just call and it’s resolved within 24-hours.

    nina the evil one’s last blog post..Discovering the Secrets of the South

  • http://www.an-american-in-the-philippines.blogspot.com/ kikas_head

    Thank you for doing your ISP reviews again. We are about to move next month and have the daunting task of choosing a new internet provider. Currently we have SmartBro (which was the only one we could get in Tondo, Manila) and are planning to switch to (I think), Bayantel when we move to QC).

    I abhor SmartBro. The trick I have learned is to complain constantly, take the names of the customer service reps I talk to, and track what day I spoke to which person. During the course of our ~18 months with them, we received four months free because of lack of connections, slow speeds, etc.

    kikas_head’s last blog post..Cathay Pacific

  • http://dine.racoma.com.ph SexyMom

    thanks for sharing Noems, it’s so timely because i am now about to take a 3rd connection. my primary connection is bayantel, which drops and connects like every 15 minutes now, and pldt as my second line, which sometimes also disconnects.

    sometimes i even have to go to McDonald’s or Treats along Katipunan in the middle of the night, so as to have connection.

    3g for emergency connection perhaps?

    btw–every now and then i see you connections drop then reconnect.

    SexyMom’s last blog post..Ingat–Just What Does It Mean?

  • http://aboutmyrecovery.com Noemi

    @Pau- after being a destiny customer for 9 years in my previous residence, it helped to know the tech guys in charge of my locality.

    @Jenny- I don’t mind the lock-in period as long as internet connection is consistent. What is bad is if we want to terminate the service but are told we can’t.

    I believe we can contest the lock-in period to NTC if we can show proof of the non-existent connection. Document well.

    @nina- Yes I heard of their satisfaction guarantee. THe thing is Bayantel is not available here. I heard it gets spotty too as MOST of our ISPs do. What’s new?

    @Dine- yes get the smart 3g but before that check if the smart3g signal is good in your area. One time I was in the UP campus, and I got a really good signal of over 1 mbps using my HSDPA phone.

  • http://jrocas.com.ph jhay

    The most common thing with all three ISPs is that they really do their jobs right after you threaten to the file a complaint against them at the NTC.

    It all means that these ISPs really don’t give a damn about us customers, all they want is our money. Greedy capitalists.

    Government hearings should focus on the telcos and the ISPs after looking into the power sector. It’s about time we paying customers get what we deserve for our hard earned money.

    Lastly, yes, Globe/Innove Broadband still sucks in Cavite.

    jhay’s last blog post..invisibleSHIELD.com is now ZAGG.com

  • http://aboutmyrecovery.com Noemi

    @jhay- I am so aware of your Globe internet woes. I remember how you were interviewed for a TV segment and it was never shown. Globe pressures?

  • http://jesterinexile.blogspot.com the jester-in-exile

    i keep on telling people that filing customer complaints (with basis, of course), is in the end constructive.

    here’s an idea — since MSM keeps on ignoring such complaints, and sometimes government bureaus are persuaded to sit on them, why don’t we use cyberspace as our sounding board, such that complaints get higher SEO and SERPS scores than the websites of the companies?

    the jester-in-exile’s last blog post..The Saturday Post. Long Awaited — Not. Just Long.

  • http://www.jehzlau-concepts.com Jehzeel Laurente

    ako pag nawala yung smart bro ko hihintayin ko nalang bumalik doing nothing :) after 2 to 3 days without internet kusa namang bumabalik :) kasi pag tatawag ka sa smart bro wala ding mangyayari. so dapat mag hintay … hehe

    Jehzeel Laurente’s last blog post..Bloggers Suck, Little Losers by David and Goliath Rocks!

  • http://www.ironwulf.net Ferdz

    I have tried both PLDT and Smart Bro. PLDT was ok in our area but had to remove it since it was so expensive (plan 1999), had Smart Bro in our house. I agree tech support really takes time to answer. And if it rains hard, I would occasionally loose connection

    Smrt 3G is good. Even if smart bro is out, I just attach or BT my phone if I needed connection.

    Ferdz’s last blog post..Word Pyro Olympics 2008: Venezuela vs Italy

  • http://www.moneymakingthoughts.com Ely

    Wow this is very informative. I honestly love using Smart 3G as well. Unfortunately, we don’t have 3G in Antipolo Huhuhu. So I have to settle with Digitel – which intermittently disconnects. On regular days though, it’s pretty good.

    Ely’s last blog post..The Science Of Getting Rich: Gratitude, Thinking In a Certain Way and Your Will Power

  • http://www.katipunanQC.com Elaine

    Thanks also for posting this. Hoped that you had Bayantel on your list. Been testing three lines the past few weeks, 1 residential and 2 business lines (yup, loyal kami sa Bayantel dito); comparing speeds simultaneously. It’s really weird coz it’s very inconsistent. Since the start of the rainy season, I couldn’t find a pattern to know which line was best. Speed stats vary from day to day. When the most recent business line was installed, it delivered at a download speed of 2mbs on the speedtest.net site, but 3 days after, it delivered only half and now, I can’t test it using the same server coz the QC server is missing on the speedtest.net site.

    When I called bayantel before, they just reset it. I was about to call again when voila, power fluctuations started and all bayantel lines (even the phone) were disconnected. Bad timing talaga. Having a hard time testing it ever since the rains started.

    How will you really know if they deliver on speeds they promised? I’ve been using 3 speedtest sites and they give different stats. Minsan baligtad pa (ex. auditmypc.com gives higher download speeds on line 1 than line 2, while speedtest.net gives higher speeds on line 2 than line1).

  • http://none gm

    Hi guys!I think I am one of the minorities here. I have Smartbro connection since February last year, I did have problems during first month which I think was due to the incompatibility with my PC because it was a bit old na. But when I transferred my connection to a laptop, I can only think of 1 or 2 times when I had problems and it was resolved within 2hours at the most.

  • http://doucheblog.co.cc Douche

    I use Globe Broadband. It’s good.

    Douche’s last blog post..Mars Phoenix Lander of NASA has Landed!

  • ken

    Got a globelines 3mb internet only line installed a couple of days ago, after installation speeds top out at 300kb down and 110 kb up so not even close to what i am paying them for. This is supposed to be fixed in a week or 2 according to customer service.

  • percy

    how can check if in my area reach the hsdpa? can anyone link me a website to check please. thanks

  • gina reyes

    i’ve been using PLDT DSL in manila for almosr a year now and i am quite satisfied. i never had technical issues with them. i was considering a globelines connection but globelines does not want to invest in additional capacity in our area.

    i also have a smart prepaid sim on my Nokia E51 which i use as back-up when i am out and the service is also satisfactory.

  • jazel

    i am currently experiencing problems with Globe Broadband Wired Service. Right now both our dial tone and internet connection is down for 5 days already (since sunday, May 25 until today May 30). I’ve been calling globe customer service since sunday and everyday thereafter but they cannot offer me any answer to all my questions on when the service will be restored. It is friday already. My service was only installed last May 13. I’ve also sent them an email to at least provide me feedback on what was actually happening and why restoration is taking this long but so far i only received one phone call from them and that was it. I am very frustrated by their service to say the least.

  • http://ode2old.blogspot.com annamanila

    Thanks for the ranking. I knew it .. i have the worst connection — pldt dsl — which takes days and a lot of pressure to send a technical man, if at all.

    Well, at least i have more experience-based to input into my decision making.

    annamanila’s last blog post..Paper Chase 1: THINGS I WOULDN’T HAVE KNOWN IF I PAID A FIXER AND DIDN’T BRAVE THE LINES AT NSO

  • Paolo90

    I’m using Globe Broadband too, and so far it’s been pretty good. I’m subscribed to the 3mbps data-only plan.

    Our speeds almost always reach 3mbps, and we RARELY experience downtime.

    Hopefully the ISPs get better through competition.

  • http://www.kurokuroatbp.com Toe

    This is an excellent informative post Noemi. I am quite aghast that with so many Internet users in the Philippines these ISPs, haven’t smartened up with their services with dropped connections, etc.. Achaka ano ba ‘yang lock-in period? That’s crazy. Imagine… your highest rating is only 7/10. Mabuti pa yata dito sa Cambodia. My ISP had terrible birth pains two years ago but I have no complaints now… except for the $65/month fee, of course. But then, there are much fewer Internet users here. I wonder what ISP I would use in Manila. Better check back on this post when I go home.

    Toe’s last blog post..What Would You Do If Your Blog Went Pfffffft?

  • Pingback: Focus first on quality and reliability (to be updated) | blog @ AWBHoldings.com

  • Pingback: Globelines Broadband Budget Bundles, Smart Bro and PLDT DSL » A Filipina Mom Blogger »

  • LasPinas

    These reviews are definitely helpful, in that they show how awful ISPs here could really get, and that we aren’t alone.

    In my case, legacy PLDT MyDSL personal plans (2001) are far better than their business plans.
    Can’t comment about other ISPs since I haven’t tried them. If you just use the internet for correspondence and file transfer of things such as articles, your own blog or website, or occasional browing, you’re better off writing at home and sticking to your good-old suking Internet cafe than getting a new PLDT plan.

    Speedmeters have been unreliable for me, as it depends on the server location, congestion, etc. Connecting to a speedtest’s server in Singapore gets a faster ping time than the one in Quezon City, for one.

    Anyway, the story:
    Here in Las Pinas, we’ve had a legacy PLDT DSL Personal (the P2,500 one) plan since Dec. 2001 which came with a rock-solid Nokia M5122 4-port modem/router (!!!). For close to seven years, this connection rarely went down, say, thrice in one year. It was rather solid and predictable. Heck, I needed to call support only once, only to be correctly told (after walking me through the config windows) to check if my NIC was enabled (someone who tested his VOIP unit on my PC the day before inadvertently disabled my card -argh!). There would also be automatic speed upgrades once a year or so, and the connection performed close to that limit almost all the time. That was 2001-2006. The modem had not seen a replacement, so far so good……

    In 2004, we signed up for a PLDT Small Biz lite plan (P4,000) when we put up an office right nextdoor. It was fraught with problems from the very start. We’d get disconnected every 10 or so minutes for days on end in certain months, and whenever this happens, technicians are unable to pinpoint the cause of the problem (routinely suggesting an overheated modem (currently, a Zyxel P-600), the fax, the filter, a physical chip on the line, or simply ignoring us), cabinet problems, etc. After a whole lot of calls, checks and fixes, we later see the problem resolve itself long after the visits, while we never figured out what really happened. It’s a recurring thing.

    So ironically, whenever the connection is down and we’re pushing deadlines, we end up hooking up the office router to one of the ports of the home modem nextdoor. …To think that we were about to cut the home plan, because noone’s using it anymore (my sister has moved house). Now we’re completely frustrated over the business line…

    Ah support: They outsource every single thing, from installation (CCNI Networks, in 2001), to call centers.

    Good luck, fellow PLDT DSL folks in Las Pinas.

  • http://staticbluecreations.com/blog jong

    hi, would like to know if I can user torrents, limewires etc with globelines. a friend told me that globelines block some ports… thanks…

  • Rickey Covington

    I am currently in California. My wife and i wanted intetrnet service so we applied to a local provider in Dasma proper in March. Big mistake! I left the PI to come back to the US on 1 April. I will be coming back to the Philippines soon and will need a reliable broadband connection in Trece Martirez Cavite.

    Your blog was right on time. I will do the three service providers to see which one works best. We already found out that one “off the street” provider is junk. We got the service phone and landline installed and the service started on March 1st and by the 15th it was already out of service. My wife callled and got no reply from the sales reps or coustomer service on the contract she signed from that time (mid March up to this June), but she got a bill just this week of June. I just told her not to pay them. even though they have not responeded to my wifes calls or provided any service I think they will try to give us some legal problem.
    We paid our rent there for a year (until 1 February, 09) and will move when i get back to a place closer to Manila, maybe in Cavite City, between Manila and Bocoor, Alabang, Laspinas, or Bocoor. Send me an email on any advice or suggestions.

  • Pingback: Roy Sencio

  • ayeng

    hey, we just installed smartbro this june, upgraded our internet from vibe dial up unlimited to smartbro thinking this will give us the best broadband.. wala pang one month i get 56 kbps download and 52 uploads based on speedtest website… i made some complains on the phone about 9 times, all they thought i am a newbie to the pc but not, gave me all the troubleshooting procedures but its been two days now wala pa rin silang nagawa.. i reformat my pc thinking nagkainfect pc ko from virus but still got the same speed, i tried linux os (maybe this could help) still i get the same slowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww speed.. i asked the tech support rep if i can disconnect my line immediately since i was not satisfied with what we paid for but he said “sorry you have one year contract with smart” with this i felt hopeless… now i was thinking to contact the DTI or NTC (not sure which one) but i dont know how, any one can email me the emails or something of both Gov’t Agencies that i can send info about this? i got proof, i print screen the result of the speedtest…

    by the way we only have pldt and smart as an ISP in zamboanga city so there’s no other choice…

    hoping for your replies…

  • Cris P.

    I am currently using globe broadband, connection is good but im not able to access microsoft websites or download Microsoft updates. Windows and Router firewall is disable, set reouter to DMZ. The only way I can access Microsoft’s website or do an automatic update is to use a proxy server. I can download from other site’s without any problems. Two of my workmates also experience the same issue.any one got a solution?

  • Khristine

    I’ve been using smart bro plug it prepaid since March and since its totally dependent on signals (add to the fact that our house is not “smart” friendly) it can be slow and we usually experience dropped connections. I use that on my macbook and since I can take it anywhere, thats a big plus.
    my second isp is pldt mydsl, i got the plan 1299 last May and i just got my first bill and i was shocked. since i’m on plan 1299, i expected to be billed at least around 1300 to 1500. But no, my bill reads 2435.18!! I’m actually calling them shortly to get someone to explain why my bill was that high. (from what i remember, its free installation, I just needed to pay for the modem which i did, and thats 1200 already)
    anyway, the dsl connection is stable. so far, so good. the speeds are good even if we use the desktop and macbook at the same time (macbook on wifi ofcourse). I just hope i dont get those dsl horror stories!!

  • ayeng

    the tech guys has just visited a while a go, they didn’t do anything, just refresh refresh and refresh the desktop… i don’t know what to say next… but what i have in mind is a big question mark… what will i do next?

    i’m talking about smartbrokeband!!!

  • mai

    i live in Makati and i’ve been using PLDT dsl since 2006 and i’ve got no problem with it. performance was superb and there was never a time that i called their hotline for tech support or whatever. But just last month, i moved to a new place where Globelines have this exclusivity thing…and guess what..just what some said, the connection is horrible! 1 day after the installation, i started complaining already. i even went through a lot of hassles through their hotline, their agents, and technicians. they always tell me the same things – problem with the server, prob with the main facility, wire is grounded, blah blah. and recently, they had an excuse – the typhoon and the rainy season. too bad, my connection is not yet stable until now and i’m still complaining. of course, i refuse to pay until i get a stable connection. case not yet closed and bill adjustments ongoing. *sigh*

  • Torrenphile

    Am from Cainta Greenland and using Smartbro. Never had a dc since 2 yrs even at the height of raging typhoons barring power outages none so rare at our area. Done various speed tests with various servers located in different countries and at various times of the day for the past months (hobby ko na yata ito!). Averaging them all out gives me a figure about 90% to 95% of my ISP’s “up to 384kbps” guarantee. No complaints here. Yap, it’s true! It’s faster to connect to the Singapore server than the one in Q.C. Anyway, I’d like to hear from anyone out there also from Cainta who is a Globe wired 1.5mbps data user. Happy with the service? Never mind the csrs. 90% of the time they suck! Heard enough horror stories.

  • http://noneyet Bahamut

    Hmm about the SMART 3G stuff yeah it was cool until recently here in Pasig I got a problem most of the time I got no signal either 3G or GPRS. BTW what number do you call if you got a problem with 3G or GPRS?? And I waswondering if you tried GLOBE Visiblity plan most ppl say it sucked bad even worse for prepaid users . Thank you for the review I liked it now I know what ti get and where to complain LOL!!!

  • Walter

    Hi, I’m from Laguna. Which one would be better? SmartBro or Globe Broadband?

    • http://aboutmyrecovery.com Noemi

      You will have to find out since I don’t live there.

  • Bobin

    Noemi,

    Have you ever noticed that in your speed test summaries you switched the download speeds and the upload speeds? Look at the pics of the speed tests and then look at the text of your reviews immediately below the pics and you will know what I mean.

    Anyway, you and all of those who gave their comments here are luckier than people in Binan, Laguna like myself who rely on DIGITEL for their phone and broadband bundles. DIGITEL service is totally lousy and after experiencing their service you will not only become nasty but close to criminal. Since the beginning of May 2008 when we had DIGITEL installed (or about 4 and 1/2 months til today), it has only been operational for less than a month. No matter how much we complain or how often we call customer service, repair takes too long.

    Aside from being non-operational most of the time, speed is SLOOOOOOOOOOOW (no exaggeration). Promised download speed is 512 kbps but Speedtest download speed is only 99 kbps or less than 20%. That means that us paying subscribers are getting much much less than what we bargained for (99 kbps vs 512 kbps) and much much less than what we could get from PLDT or Globe for the same price of P’999 per month (512 kbps vs 1 mbps).

    Why do we have to put up with them and not terminate their service? Because we don’t have a choice. PLDT and Globe are not licensed to operate in Binan.

    I desire to spearhead a movement which will force DIGITEL to give up its franchise so that Globe and PLDT can come to Binan to save its poor citizens from being hostages of an incapable, inefficient and downright incompetent service provider which is DIGITEL.

    Now, do you feel better?

    • Jason

      GLOBE LINES /Wireless Internet is available now at Binan so you can now avail the service but wires you must complete the 12months lock period of DIGITEL hehehehehehe,

  • eloy pancho

    i also have an internet connection issue, this time it is with Globe Visibility 3g with Hsdpa (wireless)..i don’t want to detail the problem anymore, i did that so many times when i escalate my issue from customer support, to technical personnels, to supervisors, and finally, to senior acct. manager..to tell it short, since i started using my GV last April, i already experienced its very slow connection, only 5kBps..and now is already 5 months after, but the Globe manager i talked to only said that they are sorry, they cannot promise immediate upgrade of my network coverage..and that they are ready for whatever decision i have to make..isn’t it MADDENING? they already did a visit to my place, changed my modem, but all to no avail..the problem maybe with my location..since i live here at Maligaya, Novaliches..just near SM Fairview..however, i have called Globe before i even subscribed, and it was they who said that the connection here should be good.. i’m already determined to terminate this service next week, and told the Sr. Account Mngr don’t they dare to ask me for a termination fee..

    my only concern is after terminating GV, what ISP should i subscribe to then? guys, if anyone knows what really works here at my area, please tell..i don’t care if its wired or wireless..with my kind of job, internet speed is critical factor..however, no internet at all is not the choice..

    • clement

      if you would mind =)

      i have used Smart 3G and Globe 3G on my nokia E51 to connect to the WWW from my dorm here in Cabuyao Laguna with acceptable to great satisfaction.

      What i do. I normally set my phone network setting from “Dual Band” to “UMTS” …. so that you only get 3G / 3.5G feeds everytime. in the event there’s a problem with connection (normally, sudden weak or zero 3G signal) then i resort to re-setting my Phone network setting to “GSM” =)

      I feel that Smart’s 3G is more reliable than globe. But since I’m into postpaid plans with globe…. and i have a rebate of Php 900.00 monthly (for the contract renewal, i didn’t opt for phone) then its like i’m hooked to the internet for free =) i usually use my Globe connection in the evening when am no longer in the office

      Hope this would help you…. forget those with the small USB modem …. they’re basically china made cellular phones minus the phone features. Go with 3.5G Nokia Phones and you’ll be more than happier =)

      Good Luck

  • dhor

    the only thing that i can say here is GLOBELINES BROADBAND is the worse ISP here in La Union

  • clement

    your review is spot on ma’am ….

    just so to share my ideas ….. the problem with Philippines is FALSE ADVERTISING IS THE NORM!

    In the USA ….. they normally advertise the “guaranteed speed” of the internet. Meaning at any given time, you’re gonna get that speed. even in peak hours

    In the Philippines ….. they advertise the “Burst Speed” or the fastest possible speed. it doersn’t guarantee that you’re gonna get that speed. This is where consumer must be educated also…. (in order to avoid being duped by these cheaters) Thus if, for example, you’re suscribewd to 512Kbps …. that is your burst speed …… your guaranteed (THE INTERNET SERVICE PROVIDERS WONT TELL, PROMISE) speed may only be from 32 to 64KBps …..

    They do the latter to be able to compete on providing low internet fares ….. Thus take a good look again on more expensive ISP …. probably you’re getting more value for your money with them :)

  • eloy pancho

    actually, clement, for the past 7 months i am experiencing the globe vis issue, don’t you think i didn’t become an expert on this network setting “solution”? that is the first “solution” the customer service will provide you..if that doesn’t work, they will say it could be your computer which is problematic..and a hundred more reasons/alibis..anyway, it is already confirmed that the issue is on the Network Coverage..what is only frustrating is that, after 6 months of waiting for the real solution, they will tell you they cannot promise an immediate fix because the site upgrades already have fixed schedules..

    in the end, what i can only say to all..BEWARE of GLOBE Visibility with hsdpa..don’t just believe when they say it works OK in your place…once you are tricked, you will be bounded by a contract, and it will be too late to complain..

  • Pingback: My Review of Globelines Broadband Budget Bundles, Smart Bro and PLDT MyDSL | Voice Over Internet Protocol Resources

  • http://cheaprealestate.site90.com lancerucher

    SLOW-slow- slow. I think it took me hours to download and watch the videos that were sent by the client for me to view and be acquainted with and it was a hassle on my part as well as I’d have to research for more sources online to write his articles and it ate up my day! That is the message you can read from the disappointed Globe Customer.

    See full article at
    http://jam-jovir.blogspot.com/2008/10/how-to-be-invisible-online-get-globe.html

    Lance
    http://cebuimage.blogpspot.com

  • http://angkwentongbuhay.blogspot.com/ lancerucher

    Damn’ I’ve been a victim of marketing! Eventually, I’d have to go every now and then to the corner store to load my kit, much to the seller’s surprise as I emptied her load as well. On the bright side though, I helped out increase the load seller’s earnings and I got to work wherever I want but still the connection remains numb at 5 pesos per 15 minutes.

    This is the message of Globe customer who use Globe service for the first time.
    In short NAPASO…..

    http://cheaprealestate.site90.com

    lanceruchers last blog post..Filipino blog commenter discriminated due to wrong grammar

  • wal

    1.how to access canopy.follow this
    turn off computer.unplug canopy adapter.unplug canopy cable from the Lan.wait a second.reverse the procedure.turn on the computer.open browser type in address bar 169.254.1.1.
    2.how to maximize your bandwidth.go to
    start>run>type gpedit.msc>click ok>group policy> computer configuration>administrative template>network>quality of service (Qos)>limit bandwidth reservable>ENABLE radio button> type 0 in space to unlimited your bandwidth click ok.
    3.smartbro DNS server is unreliable change DNS server.how
    network connection>LAN>properties>highlight TCP IP internet protocol>properties>click use the following DNS button type this DNS server.
    preffered 208.67.222.222
    alternate 208.67.220.220
    click ok.
    4.repair connection.go to command prompt
    start>run>type cmd>click ok>
    type ipconfig /all (wait a second)
    type ipconfig /release ”
    type ipconfig /renew ”
    type ipconfig /flushdns ”
    type ipconfig /registerdns ”
    type arp -d* ”
    type nbtstat -R ”
    type ping 10.0.0.1 ”
    type ping 208.67.222.222 ”
    type ping 208.67.220.220
    5.download CABLENUT.
    PROPERLY HELP YOU**

    The answers to the following questions are very important when posting asking for assistance, if you answer them accordingly it will save you and us alot of time in helping you get your connection optimized quickly and easily.

    1. Download Cablenut.

    2. What type of connection do you have? i.e. 56K, ISDN, DSL (PPPoE or not), Cable etc.

    3. Who is youe ISP and what is your advertised speed from them? i.e. Cox.net & 3000/256 – this is advertised in kilobits per second. If you don’t know your caps please provide us with a link to your ISPs homepage.

    4. What are your current settings now? Do a TCP/IP Analyzer test and copy and paste the results (remember to XXXXX out your IP address) here.

    5. What kind of speeds are you getting now? Do 10 speed tests from Speakeasy (choose the location nearest to you) clearing your internet temp files prior to each test, and give us the average of your top 5 tests. This will give you a good baseline to go by but remember speed tests are not 100% accurate.

    6. Please tell us your operating system i.e. 95, 98, 98SE, ME, 2K or XP.

    IMPORTANT TO UNDERSTAND
    Remember your goal is to get about 90% of your rated speed, sometimes depending on factors beyond your control i.e. routers, servers, line quality etc. it just isn’t gonna happen, no matter what you do.

    The following are my suggested settings in Cablenut for 2K & XP:

    DefaultReceiveWindow = multiply your ISPs download caps in kilobytes by 1024
    DefaultSendWindow = multiply your ISPs upload caps in kilobytes by 1024
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 100
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 240
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 320
    LargeBufferSize = 81920
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 15040
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 1280
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = use the calculator to find your best value*
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts = 0 (set to 1 if TcpReceiveWindow is 65535 or higher)
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 2
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize = use the calculator to find your best value*
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 92

  • Kriz

    I am a digitel subscriber for 6 months.
    Promised speed is 832 kbps.
    Since I got the service I only receive 400 to 430 kbps.
    I am a little familiar with modem configuration
    Each modem also has its speed tester
    On my modem prolink it only shows 512 kbps down / 192 up
    On actual spped test it will show an average 415 down / 120 up

    is there some one who can post an instruction on how to properly file a complaint against ISP at NTC?

  • http://lavendercrystal.multiple.com Maureen Hernandez

    Hi, Thanks for this blog it really is a lot of help.

    Yes, its really frustrating when the ISP’s think that internet users are stupid.

    I live in Caloocan and am currently experiencing horrid download speeds. I currently use the residential 1299 bundle with 512 kbps download rate and its only clocking at 300 or so. PLDT said that tas long as it was within 60% it was “normal”.

    We used to have the 999 dsl plus 700 landline but the tech support person said that it was the same as the 1299 plan (512kbps) so we stuck with it. This morning, I saw that PLDT’s 999 dsl only plan was supposed to be 1Mbps, so I called the tech support again.

    What do you know, apparently the facilities here are so crappy that it doesn’t support that speed. The techsupport person said that even though I’m paying for more, the facilities can still only supply 512kbps.

    Here is the weird thing, before asking about the 999/1Mbps thing, my dad was talking to another techsupport person and she said that they can provide us 1.2Mbps for P1995. I thought that the reason why they can’t give me 1Mbps for P999 was because their facilities can only go up to 512kbps.

    So I called them again. Apparently they can supply the 1.2Mbps for 1,995, but not 1Mbps for 999.

    Their servers can provide it they just DON’T WANT TO provide it at 999.

    So Technically its more expensive here than in other places even if its still Metro Manila.

    I’m just thinking, can I report this to NTC? Because this is false advertising. Even in their website they show 999 as 1Mbps.

  • Smith

    I’ve already tried every isp here in the phils. and i’ve got the most unforgettable bad experience with MYDESTINY isp service. So far they are the most unreliable and unprofessional isp. They are the slowest in almost everything. So beware don’t waste your money. I should have stayed with other isp that sucks sometimes than all the time.

  • http://www.kaphy.com Jobs Singapore

    It seems both Smart Bro, Globe and other ISP are practicing the same. Promising more but giving us trouble.

    I have a smart bro that always hang up if i tried to open many tabs on various links.

  • Macky

    Can I ask a question? Can I replace the modem that PLDT had gave me because my internet connectivity has been poor and I just got my PLDT Plan 990 last week and the connection ranges form 50-70 kbps ONLY!!!

    What can you suggest for me to do???

    Please E-mail me @ [email protected] if you have time tnx…

  • Karlo

    Hi!

    Welcome to Marikina City. Sad to say, but here are only few ISPs here available in this area. The Philippines fastest ISP company, is not yet available in Marikina. Which is Sky Cable Internet, which offers up to 12mbps. Anyway since the first week of November, I called Globe, and inquired if I can apply for their DSL plans. I love their bundle package, with free phone.

    Unfortunately, there are no available ports (according to their customer service). After a few weeks, I called them again, waited for their call back. Still receiving the same feedback.

    I told them I want their company because I read a review about them (refering to you’re site which I recently realized, it was featured in rated k–correct me if i’m wrong), also I wanted their service as a birthday gift to my self.

    Still nothing happens.

    I decided to reconnect my SMARTBro account and hopefully next year or before next year, I’ll be on DSL with faster speeds. Although I have a direct connection with the SMARTBro techs, I have a 25ft+ antenna.

    Also, I’m curious to try Sun Broadband and Happy Networks. Have you heard their partnered satellite service?

    Hope you and you’re family have a wonderful chrismas!

  • Paolo

    I can’t speak for Globe but I would think that PLDT DSL is the best. I’m now surfing on SMART’s 3G network and frankly, they only give us less than 1/3 of the published speed.

    You’re right in saying that these providers should refrain from using the line “faster than dial-up.” It’s wasting our time and more importantly, our money

  • ktd

    I have a 3mb globelines data only package, there are disconnects every week, typical weekend for globelines is 18 hours disconnect on friday, 4 hours on saturday another 9 hours on monday. Past couple of weeks getting network time outs when trying to surf the internet. Today i cant connect to any sites except local sites like this one, Yahoo ? forget about it, can not connect, speedtest.com? not that one either, pretty much cant connect to 99.9% of the internet.
    Tried to call customer support but cant connect to that either, recording says to try again later. Not that they would be any help outside of saying have to checked your cables ? or have you tried restarting your modem?
    I find it hard to believe that they are allowed to continue to advertise on television about their wonderfully fast and stable internet, there really should be some government agency who protect consumers from companies like globelines or any other internet provider who do not provide what they advertise.

  • shawn

    Thanks for this most informative post. My asawa ko’s experience with Smart Bro in Makati near Don Bosco was the same as yours. However, they never were able to fix the problem so I made them make the bill go away as they weren’t delivering the service they had contracted for.

    Remember this, and don’t let them bully you into paying for a shoddy service, you don’t have to continue paying for a lousy or non-existant service even if you’ve signed a contract with them. If they can’t fix the problem in a reasonable amount of time you do have a right to cancel the contract. End of story.

    Good luck!

  • Lorie

    Hi, anyone here a subscriber of globe broadband in Binangonan, Rizal.

    I am planning to put up a small internet shop with 4 PCs. As a starter I want to apply for globe since their service is a lot cheaper than mydsl. However they only have wireless broadband in the area.

    Need your help please. How is their service in this area?

    Thanks,
    Lorie

  • http://cdsaint.blogspot.com Candy

    Thanks for this informative post! I’m currently a subscriber of ZPDee and I have no complaints with their internet AND customer service. But since my dad’s looking into cutting off our Sky Cable TV subscription (which will also cut off the ZPDee subscription), I am now scouting for a different internet service provider and i’m glad I stumbled upon your post. Thanks for all the reviews…this will really help in our decision of what ISP to subscribe to.Ãœ

    Candys last blog post..BDO means Beware: Delinquent Office

  • dennis torres

    for lorie, you can use wireless but not that 999 or lower cost, because those are dynamic connection, and most likely youll have a lot of downtime. these wireless companies also offer, static connections, cost is a bit higher but connection is always good, and you can even select a signal tower which has the strongest signal in your area. with smart they call it “enterprise” package, cost you 3500 a month.

    about those people who complain bout these so called promised speed of any isp, kept in mind that it is NOT a promised speed, for example if they say your connection is 1mbps downstream 512 upstream, it does not mean you getting the speed, no. 1mbps downstreams is only your burstable speed and not necessarily your speed and most likely you wont even get 1mbps, its always lower, same with upstream.

    If any of you would really want a good connection with any isp, always ask bout two things. first, is it static? if its not then you have a tendency of always having DC, and second, ask for a CIR, its a minimum comitted internet rate, if they can’t give you, its either they’re offering you a dynamic connection or static of the lowest speed rate.

    • Efren Castro

      Hi guys

      I just need your input about the Icafe package of Globe. I would appreciate your comments and advise. Thanks.

      Efren Castro

      MEGA GAMING MODEL

      # of PCs GBB Package PC Vendor Price of PC (unit price x no. of units) Price of GBB Dress-up program Other FREEbies PC Specs
      5 Freedom 1mbps PC Express i-café kit (Linksys 8 port switch, Linksys 4 port router, 1 DVD super multi drive) 170,750 1,495 Globe-FREE signage; PC Express: (2) 2×6 Ft. PC Express-Globe-Intel Tarpaulins, (1) 9×3 Ft. PC Express-Globe-Intel Tarpaulin, 5 topper, online game posters c/o PC EXPRESS: 1 UPS 500VA & 1 All in one multi-function printer (w/ black & colored ink) PC EXPRESS: Processor-Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 1.80GHz; Motherboard-Intel D926GZAB-L mainboard w/ IPAT; Memory-Corsair 512MB DDR2 667; Graphics-Nvidia 7300GT 128MB DDR3 PCI-Express; Audio-Intel High Definition Audio w/ 5.1 Surround Sound; Network-Intel PRO

      10 Trader 1.6mbps PC Express i-café kit (Linksys 8 port switch, Linksys 4 port router, 1 DVD super multi drive) 332,250 2,495 Globe-FREE signage; PC Express: (2) 2×6 Ft. PC Express-Globe-Intel Tarpaulins, (1) 9×3 Ft. PC Express-Globe-Intel Tarpaulin, 10 topper, online game posters c/o PC EXPRESS: 1 UPS 500VA, 2GB USB Pen drive & 1 All in one multi-function printer (w/ black & colored ink) PC EXPRESS: Processor-Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 1.80GHz; Motherboard-Intel D926GZAB-L mainboard w/ IPAT; Memory-Corsair 512MB DDR2 667; Graphics-Nvidia 7300GT 128MB DDR3 PCI-Express; Audio-Intel High Definition Audio w/ 5.1 Surround Sound; Network-Intel PRO

      15 Tycoon 2mbps PC Express i-café kit (Linksys 16 port switch, Linksys 4 port router, 1 DVD super multi drive) 495,500 3,495 Globe-FREE signage; PC Express: (2) 2×6 Ft. PC Express-Globe-Intel Tarpaulins, (1) 9×3 Ft. PC Express-Globe-Intel Tarpaulin, 15 topper, online game posters c/o PC EXPRESS: 1 UPS 500VA, 2GB USBPen drive, 2pcs. webcam & 1 All in one multi-function printer (w/ black & colored ink) PC EXPRESS: Processor-Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 1.80GHz; Motherboard-Intel D926GZAB-L mainboard w/ IPAT; Memory-Corsair 512MB DDR2 667; Graphics-Nvidia 7300GT 128MB DDR3 PCI-Express; Audio-Intel High Definition Audio w/ 5.1 Surround Sound; Network-Intel PRO

      VII. Do I need to get my broadband package from Globe?
      Yes. You will only be able to avail of the special packages if you avail of a GBB package. You will have to pay higher standard market rates if you get the same PCs without Globe Broadband.

      VIII. How much per month shall I pay for my Globe Broadband package?
      5 PCs 10 PCs 15 PCs
      Globe BroadBand 1,495 2,495 3,495
      Freedom (1M BPS) Trader (1.6BMPS) Tycoon (2MBPS)

      Please note that this rate already comes with a business landline!
      You can save as much as P29K per annum versus getting separate services from other providers:

      Max Download Speed (MBPS) A B A-B (A-B) X 12
      Competitor Globe Savings per month Annualized Savings
      Broadband Landline* Total w/VAT* Broadband*** Landline Total
      1.6 3,000 1,300 4,816 2,495 - 2,495 2,321 27,852
      2 4,000 1,300 5,936 3,495 - 3,495 2,441 29,292

      *estimated business MSF for NCR
      **with VAT of 12%
      ***GBB MSF quoted as VAT-inc

      IX. How much will I pay monthly after the initial cash outlay?
      After paying for the PCs, you will only pay for the equivalent amount of your GBB package + any amount you may spend on IDD or NDD to other telcos (NDD calls to any other Globelines landline in the country are free!!!).
      There are no royalty fees or other charges.

      X. How does this compare with competitor’s packages?

      a. Lower cash outlay versus competitor:

      Partner: PC Express

      I-Cafe Model Number of PCs
      5 10 15
      Internet Surfing & Gaming 121,450 236,900 353,350
      Mega Gaming 170,750 332,250 495,500
      Competitor’s packages 177,240 352,240 527,240

  • Whilyn

    I applied for a globe broadband. Globe asked for requirements and I provided them but they requested for an advance 1 month payment. That was a bit insulting since I actually provided them with more than adequate proof that I am qualified for the post-paid plan. Nonetheless, I paid for the advance payment and did not have long to wait for my installation.

    Come Installation day, the tech guys informed me that installation cannot be possible because 3G is not activated in the nearest cell site and they were honest enough to say that I would only get crawling speed without the 3G.

    I called up the agent and requested for a refund. To be surprise, they requested me to make a letter indicating that I DON’T WANT TO PROCEED with my application. I was pissed off that such requirements are imposed for refunds. In the very first place, GLOBE was the party without any capacity to render the service.

    You may wonder why I am making a big deal out of a letter when I can make a long comment here. Well, I just believe that it is very stupid to ask your customer to make a letter of CANCELLATION when it is an APOLOGY and a REFUND that they should be making.

    I have sent a complaint to globe and I copied in NTC. NTC was fast enough (about 3 days) to demand Globe to attend to my complaint. Sadly, GLOBE did not make any calls at all or any reply attending to my concern. All I got was an auto reply informing me to call their customer service. WHAT A SERVICE.

    The application was filed January and it is obvious May now. I have been to Globe for three times already. I have provided them with my official receipt for two times already. Just recently, I received a text message informing me that my refund is finally ready to be picked up.

    I dropped by their business center (not at all convenient to visit considering the travel time and all), I was requested to surrender the official receipt — two copies of which was previously provided to them. Unluckily, I am not really the person who keeps Official Receipts for 4 months thus I was denied the refund.

  • Lesley Macapas

    I’m using Skybroadband, and i haven’t had decent service for almost 3 months of the 4 months i’ve been with them. Sa umpisa lang sila maganda, once you’re hooked, service detoriates. As in really bad, we’re talking no connection at all almost the whole time. I’m normally an easygoing person, but this is too much specially since i work from home and a reliable internet connection is a necessity. I’m already going to consult a lawyer about what i can do to them after all the physical, financial and emotional stress they gave to me. I don’t know what the outcome will be, but these companies shouldn’t be allowed to get away with stealing our hard-earned money and time. If you know anybody who’s mad enough to sue, pls. contact me and we might stand a better chance with a class suit if they know we’re really serious. Thanks!

  • mwnr

    can we involve DTI about this??

    Lahat nalang ng Internet Service providers are poor provider of service :(

    We need some sort of electric shock sa mga ISP na ito that they should get their acts together or else get out!

    Sadly I understand if you want service, you have to pay for it. Thus baka maging mahal ang internet service lalo sa mga nag dedemand ng high throughput.

    Ang akin lang. THEY SHOULD PUBLISH THE GUARANTEED SPEED, NOT THE BURST SPEED!

  • ysmael

    ang bagal ng internet nakakaasar,,di ko menjoy service nyo… damn,

  • http://ashkenazz.blogspot.com abe

    I’m currently subscribed to sun wireless broadband. I was hoping to see some reviews about Smart Bro Plan 999 which has a bandwidth of 1mbps because I wanted to know if it would be better to sacrifice mobility over quality of service, but since this review was meant for services made 2 years ago, I can’t really rely on your comments that much. Maybe I can agree on some Customer Support Issues because almost all of them only depend on call centers (BPO).

    I would like to know how good or bad the current service of Smart Bro Plan 999 (1mbps) is… the one with a fixed router.
    .-= abe´s last blog ..Arnel Pineda doesn’t look good on his new haircut =-.

  • Efren Castro

    This is clear and simple a rip off. Whatever angle you will look at it, this internet providers should know better that they are defrauding the public and therefore, they should be stop doing business. We can live without an internet before, we can live without an internet now. We just don’t need ISPs who do not live up to their promises. It is undemocratic and disservice to the Filipino people. The government especially the NTC should look into these complaints seriously. What is at stake here is public trust and confidence to ISP.

  • Melvin

    Lost dial tone and internet last Sept before Ondoy. Till now we have nothing. Damn Globelines!

  • fyb3r0pt1c

    Hi, just want to know if Globe Broadband Wireless in Cavite between Imus and Dasma area are ok? Thanks.

    • Herwin

      Worst ISP? Globelines

  • eloy pancho

    best ISP i had so far? SUN Broadband

    perhaps, this is partly because of low number of SUN consumers compared to Globe and SMART. both of them suck.

    i live here in Novaliches, Quezon city — just behind SM Fairview.

    this is selfish on my part, pero sana nga wag ng mxadong dumami consumer ni SUN n mag-aagawan ng bandwidth :D

  • Jun0865

    Lesley Macapas, pwd ko bang makuha yung cel no. mo? yung internet kasi ng gf ko, matagal na nilang nirireklamo sakin kasi sobrang bagal. tinawagan na nila yung PLDT bout dun pero wala parin. Im a tech myself so I know what to check if its on their end or ours. I can read every process ng PC kung malakas kumain ng bandwith o hindi. Kahit yung smarbro namin dati, binalak ko nagn maghain ng reklamo sa NTC dala narin ng pagbabanta ko dati, nagawan nla ng paraan ang problem Tama ang suggestion mo na pwede tayong maghain ng class suit. If you can give me your number, susportahan kita sa laban mo.

  • http://philippine-idiot.blogspot.com Philippine Idiot

    I’m in Cagayan de Oro and im planning to transfer to PLDT myDSL from SmartBro 999 plan. SmartBro kasi starts to be a pain in my ass and my business sole relies in this connection.

    Problema lng sa PLDT parang di maganda service nila. They promised that my connection is to be installed within last week pero hanggang ngayon wala pa. Ganito ba talaga sila ka-prompt when answering to customer complaints?

    To stay or not to stay?
    .-= Philippine Idiot´s last blog ..Free SEO Tools: Broken Links Finder =-.

  • sonny

    don’t buy share it in valenzuela city ang bagal ng share it here in valenzuela city at lalo n kung nasa loob kayo ng bahay sobra bagal ang akin nasa 3rd floor n ako ang bagal p din nilabas ko n an bagal p din po

  • Browse N Drowse

    I wanted to install Smart Bro Share It in the past but when I was searching the Web for reviews about Smart Bro, I found this link: The reason behind SmartBro’s lockin period. It really opened my eyes. That’s why I hope to spread this link so that others might also see. I hope you will spread it too.

  • ktd

    My latest encounter getting my connection fixed. Called on tuesday morning reported no dsl signal

    the call center apologized and told me their tech’s would fix the problem as soon as possible.

    Called Wed morning asked them when their tech’s were gonna start working on my connection, The

    call center employee said a tech would come to my house sometime today. Waited all day no tech

    showed up. Called the tech support call center Thursday morning and told them no one came on wed,

    the call center employee apologized and said i would now have to wait 12 days for another on site

    visit.
    I informed the call center employee that i would cancel my account before i wait a total of 16

    days before someone from globeline to start working on my connection and that’s dependent on if

    they even show up when scheduled.
    Decided to stop wasting my time with the Globeline technical support hot line and went down to the

    local office at 1pm. Talked to a rep about the problem and he made a phone call and told me a tech

    would come to my house. A repair team showed up about 4pm and checked the telephone pole outside

    and there was no signal which means the problem was between that pole and the facility box. The

    tech informed me that they didn’t have a key to open the box so they would tell some other tech’s

    to check the box on Friday as that’s likely where the problem was. Woke up Friday morning and my

    connection has been finally fixed.
    To recap

    Tues – no attempt to fix my connection

    Wed – no attempt to fix my connection and a no show on the on-site visit.

    Thurday – Repair crew shows up at 4pm not prepared or equipped to fix a internet connection.

    Friday – Connection restored at around 9am.

    It took Globelines 4 days to fix a internet connection that could have been fixed in 15 minutes. I

    had to call numerous times which were a total waste of my time and had to go down to the local

    office in person to get them to start working on the problem.
    As a customer paying for a service i find this level of service unacceptable and globelines needs

    major improvement in the way they service their existing accounts.

    1. I don’t need a call center employee to tell me their tech’s will fix the reported problem when

    in fact no one is working on it.

    2. When a on-site visit is scheduled it would be nice if someone showed up.

    3. Reporting a no show from Globelines on-site visit the next day and informed that since the tech

    did not show up i now have to wait another 12 days for the next available tech is just retarded.

    4. When a repair crew goes to fix a connection problem they should be prepared and equipped such

    as having a key to open a box.

    5. Globelines need to staff their tech support call center with people who are able to do more

    than and generate reports, they should be able to make a phone call and resolve problems instead

    of saying sorry our tech didn’t show up but now you have to wait 12 more days for the next

    available tech.

    6. I should not have to call numerous times to coordinate the repair efforts on my connection, I

    should not have to make a on-site visit to the local Globelines office in order to get a 15 minute

    repair job done. If i had not done these things Globelines technical support hot line employee’s

    would have me waiting 16 days for another on-site visit that they may of not show up for.

  • ktd

    My latest encounter getting my connection fixed. Called on tuesday morning reported no dsl signal the call center apologized and told me their tech’s would fix the problem as soon as possible.

    Called Wed morning asked them when their tech’s were gonna start working on my connection, The call center employee said a tech would come to my house sometime today. Waited all day no tech

    showed up. Called the tech support call center Thursday morning and told them no one came on wed, the call center employee apologized and said i would now have to wait 12 more days for another on site visit.
    I informed the call center employee that i would cancel my account before i wait a total of 16 days before someone from globeline to start working on my connection and that’s dependent on if they even show up when scheduled.

    Decided to stop wasting my time with the Globeline technical support hot line and went down to the

    local office at 1pm. Talked to a rep about the problem and he made a phone call and told me a tech would come to my house. A repair team showed up about 4pm and checked the telephone pole outside and there was no signal which means the problem was between that pole and the facility box. The tech informed me that they didn’t have a key to open the box so they would tell some other tech’s to check the box on Friday as that’s likely where the problem was. Woke up Friday morning and my

    connection has been finally fixed.
    To recap

    Tues – no attempt to fix my connection

    Wed – no attempt to fix my connection and a no show on the on-site visit.

    Thurday – Repair crew shows up at 4pm not prepared or equipped to fix a internet connection.

    Friday – Connection restored at around 9am.

    It took Globelines 4 days to fix a internet connection that could have been fixed in 15 minutes. I had to call numerous times which were a total waste of my time and had to go down to the local

    office in person to get them to start working on the problem.
    As a customer paying for a service i find this level of service unacceptable and globelines needs major improvement in the way they service their existing accounts.

    1. I don’t need a call center employee to tell me their tech’s will fix the reported problem when in fact no one is working on it.

    2. When a on-site visit is scheduled it would be nice if someone showed up.

    3. Reporting a no show from Globelines on-site visit the next day and informed that since the tech did not show up i now have to wait another 12 days for the next available tech is just retarded.

    4. When a repair crew goes to fix a connection problem they should be prepared and equipped such as having a key to open a box.

    5. Globelines need to staff their tech support call center with people who are able to do more than and generate reports, they should be able to make a phone call and resolve problems instead of saying sorry our tech didn’t show up but now you have to wait 12 more days for the next available tech.

    6. I should not have to call numerous times to coordinate the repair efforts on my connection, I should not have to make a on-site visit to the local Globelines office in order to get a 15 minute

    repair job done. If i had not done these things Globelines technical support hot line employee’s would have me waiting 16 days for another on-site visit that they may of not show up for.

  • ktd

    Update…

    Thought it was fixed on Friday morning but turns out even tho i can now connect to the internet i am getting around 30% of the speed i am supposed to get. My 3mb dsl connection wont speed test faster than 0.7 – 0.8.
    When i first got it hooked up i speed tested the line and got 3.2 to 3.4.

    Called Globelines about it and was informed of a area wide network problem and was told the internet was down in my area. I informed them that i could connect but it was less than 1mb download speed.

    They said a tech would look into it, Saturday afternoon a tech shows up and tries a different modem which made no difference and then left. While he was here he said there was a major upgrade going on somewhere.
    Getting problems now where i can’t connect to most sites like google, yahoo, etc…Still connecting to some sites tho.

    Sunday morning, can’t connect to most sites altho i can connect to some.
    Called repair people again. They said they will try and send someone out later today.
    Sunday afternoon and i can connect to most sites but still only getting 30% of the speed.

    To recap…

    First report problems to Globelines on Tuesday Aug 10, 2010 its now Sunday Aug 15th and still not fixed.

    Globelines has alot of excuses but i really can’t understand why a major telecom like Globelines needs weeks to fix a internet connection.

  • Red Silva

    Hi, does anyone know what is the best broadband for me? I live here in Biglang Awa Subdivision, Bgry. Talipapa, Novaliches Q.C. between Mindanao Avenue and Quirino Hiway just across HBC.

    Im looking at Globe and Bayantel.

    Thank you in advance.

    Red Silva

  • Pingback: on NTC Broadband cap draft memorandum order | The Pro Pinoy Project

  • http://twitter.com/cool_iceman9 Faust Principe

    i have the same issue the worst was smartbro, imagine i paid in advance and yet they havent fix the none internet for a month i did’nt even get a refund because the receipt was named to someone else but im the one paying..worse they havent given me a technical report when they pulled out the darn unit..

  • http://twitter.com/cool_iceman9 Faust Principe

    i have the same issue the worst was smartbro, imagine i paid in advance and yet they havent fix the none internet for a month i did’nt even get a refund because the receipt was named to someone else but im the one paying..worse they havent given me a technical report when they pulled out the darn unit..

  • Anonymous

    Hi! I’m also experiencing the same problem with the PLDT. Its been a year and 3mos. until now they cant fix my problem. I have a computer shop business and i lose lots of money because of the slow internet and not having stable connection. I also tried to terminate my contract from the beginning and they said the same thing. Most of the time i dont have connection. Everytime theyre technician coming to my shop to fix my net they just keep reasoning the defective modem and keep changing a new one. Aside that everytime i called the pldt to complaint its very hard to reach them its taking 30mins, 1hour, 2hours that is if i get lucky to get answer my calls. most of the time i cant contact the customer service hotline. Especially when its rainy days there is no connection at all. I am so regret choosing pldt because its made my business down, so bad! I hate pldt they are crafty and unfare. They wasted so much of my time and money. I will never ever get pldt again. Now how they are to the costumer. You are right theyre not supportive at all. They dont give the satisfaction and deserving service for the costumer. PLDT ARE THE WORST
    INTERNET CONNECTION!!!

    I wanna know how to complaint to the NTC? May i know the contact no.? If you dont mind =) Thank you

  • Paul Trekker

    Parañaque City Hall Area. Globe DSL (Landline) versus SmartBro (Wireless 3G) Early morning Dec 14, 2011 test:

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/1647106502.png

    http://www.speedtest.net/result/1647108820.png

  • Gigatique Balatiba

    Globe really sucks . The service is crappy and the CS and tech support don’t know anything. Imagine we didn’t have internet connection (though we paid on time) due to a cable outage in the switch designated for our area, only 1 km perimeter, Globe can’t fix it for more than 2 weeks and that’s how long we we have no access to internet…14 whole days without internet connection not counting the days when we had the intermittent cionnection , having no internet access for more than 5 hours then another 3 hrs, etc. Globe didn’t advise us what really happened until we bugged them why, and there were no notifications on what they were doing and when would the connection be restored and the problem fixed. Globe does not really care about their customers. No customer care. All they care to update is reminder of bills to pay. Worse, we didn’t know when we would have the connection back and worst, they wouldn’t give us anything to make us not anxious about waiting for the connection to be restored. GLOBE REALLY SUCKS!

Post Navigation

Switch to our mobile site